Escaped Terrorist From Kuje Prison Nabbed With Drugs In Abuja

3 mins read

One of the terrorists who were declared wanted by Nigerian government after the Kuje Correctional Center jail break on 5th July, 2022 has been caught and arrested by the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA).

Authorities of the Nigerian Correctional Service had declared wanted many terrorists who escaped during the Kuje Custodial Centre attack which the Islamic State of West Africa Province (ISWAP) claimed responsibility

The number of escapee inmates was put at about 879 with only 443 of them recaptured.

The Director of Media and Advocacy of National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA), Femi Babafemi confirmed the arrest of the suspect identified as Suleiman Sidi in the early hours of Monday, July 11th.

Mr Babafemi disclosed that Sidi was arrested at Area 1 motor park, in the FCT while attempting to board a commercial vehicle to Maiduguri, Borno State.

READ ALSO  Breaking: Controversy Over Jonathan's Alleged Purchase Of N100m APC Nomination Form

Sidi’s arrest came three days after another suspected terrorist who fled the correctional facility, Hassan Hassan, was recaptured in Nasarawa State.

Babafemi further stated that three wraps of cannabis sativa were found on him upon search. He also revealed that during a preliminary interview, the wanted terror suspect confirmed he was remanded at the Kuje correctional centre for terrorism and robbery charges, adding that he was indeed one of the inmates who escaped from the facility last Tuesday.

While commending the officers and men of the FCT Command of the Agency for the arrest, Chairman and CEO of NDLEA, Brig. Gen. Mohamed Buba Marwa (Rtd) directed that the wanted suspect should be immediately handed over to the Nigerian Correctional Service, NCoS.

READ ALSO  Third Force Adopts Labour Party For 2023 Election

The 67 other fleeing suspects declared wanted include Abdulkareem Musa, Abdusalami Adamu, Abubakar Abdulrahman Habibu, Abubakar Mohammed Sadiq, Abubakar Mohammed, Abubakar Yusuf, Adam Lawal Muhammad, Akibu Musa Danjuma, Amodu Omale Salihu, Bello Haruna, Bilyaminu Usman, Bukar Ali, Ibrahim Mohammed, Ikya Abur, Ismail Idris Abdullahi, Modu Aji, Mohammed Sani, and Musa Abubakar.

Also, Mustapha Umar, Mustapha Umar, Shehu Abdullahi, Suleiman Zacharia, Sunday Micheal, Yakubu Abdullahi, Yasir Ibrahim Salihu, Yunusa Mukaiya, Abdulmannan Obadiki, Abubakar Mohammed Musa, Abubakar Umar, Adamu Mohammed, Ahmadu Hagola, Asama Haruna Kanti, Baluye Modu, Bassey Victor Kingsley, Diko Iko, Fannami Alhaji Bukar, Faruku Waziri, Ibrahim Musa, Idris Ojo, and Ishaq Farouk.

Others are Mohammed Goni Kyari, Mohammed Guja, Mohammed Saleh Buba, Mohammed Umar, Mukhtar Ussaini Khalidu, Musa Adamu, Musa Umar, Onyemire Asagba, Rabiu Shaibu, Sahabi Ismail, Sani Mohammed, Umar Ahmadu Ladan, Usman Balarebe, Yahaya Adamu Abubakar, Yusuf Yakubu, Abdulazeez Obadaki, Auwal Abubakar, Mansur Mohammed Usman, Mohammed Abubakar, Mohammed Jamiu Eneji Sani, Muazu Abubakar, Muhammed Sani Adamu, Muktar Umar, Nambil Zakari Gambo, Sadiq Garba Abubakar, Yazid Muhammed Usman, Yusuf Ali Yusuf.

READ ALSO  Obi Applauds Pope Francis’ Appointment Of Nigerian Cleric As Envoy To UN
Patience Leonard, PBA Journalism Mentee
Patience Leonard, PBA Journalism Mentee
+ posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.