Breaking: CBN Governor Emefiele Picks APC Presidential Nomination Form
CBN Governor Emefiele Picks APC Presidential Nomination Form

Step Down Now, Buhari Orders CBN Governor Emefiele, Others

2 mins read

A circular issued by the Federal Government and signed by Boss Mustapha, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, has just  added the Central Bank of Nigeria Governor (CBN) Godwin Emefiele  to  the list of federal government appointees to resign over their interest in becoming President in 2023.

The directive aligns with both the Electoral Act 2022 and the Guidelines of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) stipulating a minimum of 30 days window for appointees seeking elective offices to resign before an election. APC primary elections will take place in a matter of weeks.

Emefiele had rejected the N100 million which  he said was purchased for him by those pushing for his candidacy under the platform of the ruling party in 2023.  But a suit, which he purportedly filed against the electoral umpire, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), and the Attorney General of the Federation (AGF) Abubakar Malami, asking not to be prevented from participating in the process as a result of his ambition, made its way into the public domain 24 hours after.

READ ALSO  Nze Duru, Other APC NWC Members Pay Sallah Homage To Adamu (Photos)

Sources told Prime Business Africa on Thursday that the Presidency is ”particularly unhappy with the suit, from which the CBN governor has not been able to successfully extricate himself as far as the Presidency is concerned.”

Recall that President Muhammadu Buhari had, during Wednesday’s Federal Executive Council Meeting, ordered his ministers seeking political offices in 2023 to resign before Monday May 16, 2022.

At least three ministers, including Minister of State for Education Emeka Nwajiuba and Science Minister Ogbonnaya Onu, have  complied with the directive.

Boss Mustapha’s circular addressed to ”Ministers, Heads of Government Agencies, Ambassadors and other Appointees with political ambitions” was dated May 11, 2022, and specifically asked ”all  heads of extra-ministerial departments, Director-general/chief executive officers  of parastatals, agencies and government-owned companies” who have political ambition  ”to tender their  resignation on or before Monday, the 16th of May, 2022.”

READ ALSO  SEC approves 7 NGX’s Derivatives Contracts
Uduegbunam Chukwujama
+ posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.