2023 Elections: Sale Of APC Nomination Forms Fails On Schedule

Breaking: Akume, 5 Others Step Down To Crown Abdullahi Adamu APC Chairman

All six withdrawal letters forwarded to APC Election Sub Committee Chairman as political thugs sought to unsettle the convention.

2 mins read

Prime Business Africa reports that all six All Progressives Congress (APC)  chairmanship aspirants have stepped down for the party’s consensus candidate Senator Abdullahi Adamu at the ongoing National Convention of the party at the Eagle Square Abuja.

A letter  by Senator George Akume  dated March 25, 2022 and  made available to Prime Business Africa  said that the action was in deference to President Muhammadu Buhari’s appeal for a consensus arrangement that would see the emergence of Senator Adamu as chairman.

Akume’s letter was addressed to the chairman of the APC Election Sub Committee, National Secretariat Abuja.

This comes as there was fracas at the  Eagle Square venue of the Convention. Thugs had  tried to take over the venue earlier in the day forcing security operatives at the venue  to resort to using teargas to disperse the thugs before normalcy was returned.

READ ALSO  Internet Fraudster Forfeits N120m To FBI

READ ALSO: Breaking: New Pressure Group Rises In APC Ahead Of Saturday’s Feverish Convention

According the letter from the  former Benue State Governor, the aspirants  have agreed to a consensus arrangement proposed by  President Buhari ”wherein our colleague Senator Abdullahi Adamu is made our consensus candidate for the chairmanship position.”

Apart from the cover letter, Senator Akume also forwarded  six other letters of withdrawal, including his and those  of his colleague contestants.

He , therefore,  listed the ”aspirants wit:

  1. H.E Senator Tanko Al-Makura
  2. H.E Sen. George Akume
  3. H.E Abdulaziz Yari
  4. Sen. Sani Musa Muhammed
  5. Comm. Etsu Muhammed
  6. Turaki Salifu Mustapha”.
Uduegbunam Chukwujama
+ posts