CAF Shortlists Oshoala, Three Other Falcons For POTY Awards

2 years ago
1 min read

Four Super Falcons of Nigeria players led by Asisat Oshoala have been nominated for this year’s CAF Women’s Player of the Year award, reports Prime Business Africa.

Africa football governing body, CAF announced the quartet of Oshoala, Rasheedat Ajibade, Chiamaka Nnadozie and Uchenna Kanu as part of the 30-women nominees on Wednesday.

Banyana Banyana of South Africa have six nominees for this year’s award, the highest by any country.

Just like Nigeria, Indomitable Lionesses of Cameroon have four players shortlisted, while Morocco and Ghana have three players each.

Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala won the last edition in 2019, and she has won the award on four occasions. In 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2019.

The CAF women’s Player of the Year award was given out for the first time in 2001 with legendary Super Falcons striker Mercy Akide-Udoh winning the maiden edition.

And for the Women’s Young Player of the Year award, Monday Gift of Nigeria was also nominated alongside 9 other players.

While Rivers Angles Football Club of Nigeria have also been nominated alongside six other clubs for the Women’s Football Club of the Year Award.

This year’s award will be based on players performances from September 2021 until June this year.

The awards ceremony will be held on the 21st of July – shortly before the end of the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations in Rabat, Morocco.


Izuchukwu Okosi is a Nigerian sports and entertainment journalist with two decades of experience in the media industry having begun his media journey in 2002 as an intern at Mundial Sports International (MSI) and Africa Independent Television (AIT), owners of Daar Communications Plc.


Follow Us

Latest from Africa

Don't Miss

Harrison Jalla

PFAN Wants NFF Probed, Demands Account Of FIFA/CAF Funds

If the professional Footballers Association of Nigeria (PFAN)