Nigerian Albums Turning 10 in 2023

Nigerian Albums Turning 10 In 2023

1 year ago
2 mins read

This time 10 years ago, the Nigerian music industry welcomed some of the biggest bodies of work, from albums to Eps and Mix-tapes, everybody delivered.

After establishing himself as one of the biggest artists on the continent in 2012, Ice Prince delivered his impressive sophomore album ‘Fire Of Zamani’ in 2013. KCee released his album ‘Take Over’ which delivered the smash hit single Limpopo. Both Reminisce and Olamide delivered new albums that ushered in the domination of local rappers.

In the female end of the industry, Tiwa Savage released her debut project ‘Once Upon A Time’ which positioned her as a continental superstar. Below are five Nigerian albums turning 10 in 2023.

READ ALSO:Top 10 Nigerian Albums In 2022 – PBA Playlist

Burna Boy – ‘Life’

Nigerian Albums Turning 10 in 2023

L.I.F.E, an acronym for Leaving an Impact for Eternity, is Burna boy’s debut studio album. It was released on August 12, 2013, by Aristokrat Records. The album serves as the follow-up to his second mixtape Burn Identity (2011).

L.I.F.E sold 40,000 copies on the first day of its release. Aristokrat Records later sold the album’s marketing rights to Uba Pacific for ₦10 million. The album’s release was preceded by five singles: “Like to Party”, “Tonight”, “Always Love You”, “Run My Race” and “Yawa Dey”.

Olamide – ‘Baddest Guy Ever Liveth’

Nigerian Albums Turning 10 in 2023

Baddest Guy Ever Liveth, is the third studio album by Nigerian hip-hop recording artist Olamide. It was released on November 7, 2013, by YBNL Nation.

Olamide recorded the album between 2012 and 2013 and enlisted Pheelz, Buckwyla, Ketchup, Ice Prince, Pepenazi, Endia, Viktoh, B.Banks, Phyno, Pele Pele, and Bez to appear as guest artists on it. The album was produced entirely by Pheelz, except for the thirteenth track “Sitting on the Throne.

Reminisce – ‘Alaga Ibile’

ALAGA IBILE, was officially released on November 7, 2013. The album featured Wizkid, Naeto c, Davido, Olamide, and Sossick, and the singles Eleniyan, featuring Wizkid, Daddy featuring Davido, Fantasi, and 3rd World Thug. Reminisce worked with producers Sossick, Sarz, Chopstix, and Jospo.

The album sold an estimated million copies before the end of 2014. In 2014, Time Magazine named Reminisce as one of the seven “world rappers you should meet”.

READ ALSO:Big Brother Titans: Mmeli Emerges First Head Of House

Ice Prince – ‘Fire of Zamani’

Fire of Zamani, is the second studio album by Nigerian hip-hop recording artist Ice Prince. It was released by Chocolate City on October 28, 2013.

The album was executively produced by Audu Maikori, Paul Okeugo, Yahaya Maikori, and Jude Abaga. It was mastered by Sean Stan of Vintage Sounds Production

The album’s production was primarily handled by Chopstix, a member of Grip Boiz City, along with additional production from Don Jazzy, Jay Sleek, Sammy Gyang, and E-Kelly. It features guest appearances from Sunny Neji, Wale, M.I, Chip, Ruby Gyang, Wizkid, French Montana, Jesse Jagz, Olamide, Sound Sultan, Burna Boy, Yung L, Jeremiah Gyang, Shaydee, and Morell

Tiwa Savage – ‘Once Upon A Time’

Once Upon a Time is the debut studio album by Nigerian singer Tiwa Savage. It was released on July 2, 2013, by Mavin Records and 323 Entertainment. The album was made available for purchase on iTunes a day before its official release.

It features guest appearances from Don Jazzy, Flavour N’abania, Leo Wonder, Iceberg Slim, Sarkodie, and General Pype.

The album was supported by seven singles—”Kele Kele Love”, “Love Me (3x)”, “Without My Heart”, “Ife Wa Gbona”, “Folarin”, “Olorun Mi” and “Eminado”. Once Upon a Time was nominated for Best Album of the Year at the 2014 Nigeria Entertainment Awards and Best R&B/Pop Album at The Headies 2014


Follow Us

Latest from Featured Posts

Don't Miss

Lagos Police Confirm Tiwa Savage's Petition Against Davido

Tiwa Savage Alleges Threats From Davido, Files Petition

Nigerian music sensation Tiwa Savage has raised serious