CAF Names Simon Only Nigerian For Footballer Of The Year Award 

2 years ago
1 min read


Super Eagles forward Moses Simon is the only Nigerian player in a list of 30 players from 13 African countries nominated for the 2021 CAF Footballer of the Year award reports Prime Business Africa.

The award will be held on July 21 in Morocco two days before the final of the CAF Women’s Africa Cup of Nations.

The nominations was largely influenced by the Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon as most of the payers on the shortlist were in action at the AFCON.

That possibly explains why SS Napoli striker Victor Osimhen who miseed the tournament due to injury failed to make the cut.

Simon had a decent African Cup of Nations despite the round of 16 exit of the three-time African champions after the defeat to Tunisia.

Current African Footballer of the Year holder Sadio Mane who guided the Teranga Lions of Senegal to the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations triumph tops the list of African superstars that also includes Mohamed Salah, Mohamed Elneny.

Nigerian players who have won the prize previously include Rashidi Yekini (1993),Emmanuel Amuneke (1994), Victor Ikpeba (1997) and Nwankwo Kanu (1996 and 1999).

  • Super Falcons striker Asisat Oshoala who will be in action at the Africa Women’s Cup of Nations in Morocco is a strong contender to retain the crown she won last year in the women’s category.



Izuchukwu Okosi is a Nigerian sports and entertainment journalist with two decades of experience in the media industry having begun his media journey in 2002 as an intern at Mundial Sports International (MSI) and Africa Independent Television (AIT), owners of Daar Communications Plc.


Follow Us

Latest from Events

Don't Miss


CAF Awards: Gusau Hails Osimhen, Oshoala, Nnadozie, Falcons As Nigeria Win Big In Morocco

President of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Alhaji Ibrahim