BET 2023

BET 2023: Tems, Burna Boy, Asake, Ayra Star Shine In New Nominations List

1 year ago
3 mins read

Nigerian music superstars continue to make their mark on the international stage, with the latest announcement of nominees for the highly anticipated 2023 BET Awards.

Once again, these talented artists have secured well-deserved nominations, solidifying their positions as industry powerhouses.

Leading the pack is none other than the incomparable Burna Boy, whose star continues to rise with each passing year.

READ ALSO:Ajebo Hustlers: Burna Boy Was The Inspiration For ‘Barawo’

The Afro-fusion sensation has been recognized in multiple categories, reflecting his undeniable talent and impact on the music scene. Burna Boy’s nominations include Male Artist R&B/Pop Artist, Video Director of the Year, and Best International Act.

This achievement serves as a testament to his versatility as an artist and his ability to captivate audiences across different genres.

Joining Burna Boy in the spotlight are three rising stars who have been making waves in the music industry: Ayra Starr, Asake, and Tems.

Tems, known for her soul-stirring vocals, has been nominated for Best Female Artist, showcasing her incredible talent and commanding presence.

In addition, she has been recognized for Best Collaboration for her captivating contribution to Future’s hit track ‘Wait For U’. This recognition demonstrates Tems’ ability to collaborate with renowned international artists and create magic.

Ayra Starr and Asake are newcomers to the BET Awards, but their impact has not gone unnoticed. Her nomination is a testament to her outstanding musicality and burgeoning fan base.

Asake, on the other hand, has earned a nomination for Best New International Act, illustrating his rapid rise to prominence within the global music landscape.

See Full Nominee list below.

Album of the Year

Anyways, Life’s Great, GloRilla,

Breezy, Chris Brown

God Did, DJ Khaled

Her Loss, Drake & 21 Savage

Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers, Kendrick Lamar

Renaissance, Beyoncé


Best Female R&B/Pop Artist

Ari Lennox


Coco Jones





Best Male R&B/Pop Artist


Brent Faiyaz

Burna Boy

Chris Brown


The Weeknd


Best Group

City Girls

Drake & 21 Savage



Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin

Quavo & Takeoff


Best Collaboration

“Big Energy (Remix),” Latto & Mariah Carey Feat. Dj Khaled

“Boy’s A Liar Pt. 2,” Pinkpantheress & Ice Spice

“Call Me Every Day,” Chris Brown Feat. Wizkid

“Can’t Stop Won’t Stop,” King Combs Feat. Kodak Black

“Creepin’,” Metro Boomin, The Weeknd & 21 Savage

F.N.F. (Let’s Go),” Hitkidd & GloRilla

“Tomorrow 2,” GloRilla & Cardi B

“Wait For U,” Future Feat. Drake & Tems

Best Female Hip Hop Artist

Cardi B

Coi Leray


Ice Spice


Megan Thee Stallion

Nicki Minaj

Best Male Hip Hop Artist

21 Savage



J. Cole

Jack Harlow

Kendrick Lamar

Lil Baby

Video of the Year

“We (Warm Embrace),” Chris Brown

“2 Million Up,” Peezy, Jeezy & Real Boston Richey feat. Rob49

“About Damn Time,” Lizzo

“Bad Habit,” Steve Lacy

“First Class,” Harlow

“Kill Bill,” SZA

“Tomorrow 2,” GloRilla & Cardi B

Video Director of the Year

A$AP Rocky for AWGE

Benny Boom

Burna Boy

Cole Bennett

Dave Free & Kendrick Lamar

Director X

Teyana “Spike Tey” Taylor

Best New Artist


Coco Jones




Ice Spice

Lola Brooke

Dr. Bobby Jones

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

“Bless Me,” Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin

Finished (Live),” Tamela Mann

“I’ve Got Joy,” CeCe Winans

“Kingdom,” Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin feat. Naomi Raine & Chandler Moore

“New,” Tye Tribbett

“One Moment From Glory,” Yolanda Adams

“The Better Benediction (Pt.2),” PJ Morton feat. Lisa Knowles-Smith, Le’andria Johnson, Keke Wyatt, Kierra Sheard & Tasha Cobbs Leonard

Viewer’s Choice Award

“About Damn Time,” Lizzo

“Break My Soul,” Beyoncé

“First Class,” Jack Harlow

“Jimmy Cooks,” Drake Feat 21 Savage

“Kill Bill,” SZA

“Last Last,” Burna Boy

“Super Freaky Girl,” Nicki Minaj

“Wait For U,” Future Feat. Drake & Tems

Best International Act

Aya Nakamura (France)

Ayra Starr (Nigeria)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Central Cee (UK)

Ella Mai (UK)

Ko (South Africa)

L7nnon (Brazil)

Stormzy (UK)

Tiakola (France)

Uncle Waffles (Swaziland)

Viewer’s Choice: Best New International Act

Asake (Nigeria)

Camidoh (Ghana)

Flo (UK)

Libianca (Cameroon)

Maureen (France)

MC Ryan SP (Brazil)

Pabi Cooper (South Africa)

Raye (UK)

Werenoi (France)


“About Damn Time,” Lizzo

“Boy’s A Liar Pt. 2,” Pinkpantheress & Ice Spice

“Break My Soul,” Beyoncé

“Her,” Megan Thee Stallion

“Lift Me Up,” Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music From And Inspired By – Rihanna & Ludwig Göransson

“Players,” Coi Leray

“Special,” Lizzo


Follow Us

Latest from Entertainment

Davido Responds To Portable’s Criticism

Davido Responds To Portable’s Criticism

Nigerian Afrobeats star, David Adeleke, also known as Davido, has responded to fellow musician, Portable’s accusations. Portable claimed that Davido gave him  ‘bad advice’ during their dinner in the United States. Portable

Don't Miss

Ayra Starr, Tems, Davido Nominated For 2024 BET Award

Ayra Starr, Tems, Davido Nominated For 2024 BET Award

Nigerian superstars Burna Boy, Ayra Starr, Asake, Tems,