Tinubu Says Reforms To Cut Debt Service To Revenue Ratio Will Be Painful For Nigerians

Tinubu Sacks Security Chiefs, Names Successors

1 year ago
1 min read

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has approved the immediate retirement of all service chiefs including the inspector-general of police and Comptroller-General of Customs.

The president has subsequently appointed new ones to succeed them.

This was revealed in a statement signed by Willie Bassey, Director of Information, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, released on Monday, which said the replacement is with immediate effect.

This is coming three weeks after the president’s inauguration.

“President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, GCFR, has approved the immediate retirement of all Service Chiefs and the Inspector-General of Police, Advisers, Comptroller-General of Customs from Service as well as their replacements with immediate effect,” Bassey stated.

Those affected in the shakeup include Alkali Usman who was removed as the Inspector-General of Police (IGP), Lucky Irabor, sacked as the Chief of Defence Staff; Faruk Yahaya, retired as the Chief of Army Staff; Awwal Gambo, removed as the Chief of Naval Staff; and Isiaka Amao, retired as Chief of Air Staff.

READ ALSO: Tinubu Names Dele Alake, Ribadu, 6 Others As Special Advisers

The president also announced that the former Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Nuhu Ribadu, appointed as his new National Security Adviser (NSA), replaces Babagana Monguno as the nation’s NSA.

Adeniyi Adewale as the Acting Comptroller General of Customs. Adewale takes over from Hameed Ali.

He appointed  DIG Kayode Egbetokun  as Inspector-General of Police in an acting capacity

“It is to be noted that the appointed Service Chiefs, the Inspector-General of Police and the Comptroller General of Customs are to act in their positions, pending their confirmation in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” Bassey noted.

The newly appointed Officers and their offices are:

1 Mallam Nuhu Ribadu National Security Adviser
2 Maj. Gen. C.G Musa Chief of Defence Staff
3 Maj. T. A Lagbaja Chief of Army Staff
4 Rear Admirral E. A Ogalla Chief of Naval Staff
5 AVM H.B Abubakar Chief of Air Staff
6 DIG Kayode Egbetokun Acting Inspector-General of Police
7 Maj. Gen. EPA Undiandeye Chief of Defense Intelligence


Follow Us

Latest from Latest News

Don't Miss

Kogi Guber Ajaka Kicks Against Appeal Court Ruling Takes Battle To Supreme Court

Kogi Election: Ajaka Kicks Against Ruling, Takes Battle To Supreme Court

Social Democratic Party (SDP) candidate in the 11