Sports Minister Dare Inaugurates National Youth Data Bank Committee

Sports Minister Dare Inaugurates National Youth Data Bank Committee

3 mins read

Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Mr Sunday Dare has inaugurated a National Youth Data Bank Committee to generate an up-to-date information about the country’s youth for policy formulation, implementation as well as enhance their chances of being gainfully employed.

According to a statement released on Monday October 24, 2022, signed by Mohammed Manga, Director, Press and Public Relations, Dare, while inaugurating the Committee in his Office in Abuja, called on them to liaise with Federal Constituencies and Senatorial Districts with a view to producing a one-stop Shop Youth Databank for the country.

According to him, “a Databank generated through Federal Constituencies and Senatorial Districts would curb challenges, such as corrupt practices mostly associated with youth engagement in various Social Investment Programmes of the Government.”

Dare who was represented by the Ministry’s Permanent Secretary, Alhaji Ismaila Abubakar, said that the Databank when completed, should indicate the skills, ability and disability status of the youth as well as other considerations required for policy formulation and implementation.

Speaking further, the Minister stated that the absence of a National Youth Data Bank limits funding, programme implementation, practicability and youth inclusiveness, which is one of the mandates of the Ministry.

He informed that the National Assembly had earlier requested the Ministry to synergize with the Ministry of Labour and Employment with a view to generating a data bank for Nigerian youth, which will assist government in its laudable initiatives for their socio-economic development

Responding, a member of the Committee and an Assistant Director (Youth) Network Social Mobilisation (NSM) Department of the Ministry, Mr. Oyekan Adedoyin, assured that they will bring in their wealth of experience to bear in ensuring that they produce a one-stop Shop Youth Databank for policy formulation and implementation in the country.

He thanked the present Administration as well as Top Management Staff of the Ministry for giving them the opportunity to serve the country in this capacity, pledging that members will work assiduously towards the realization of their Mandate.

The newly inaugurated 12-member Committee comprising the Ministry’s Staff and other relevant Government bodies are as follows :

Agun Ebiho – Chairman; Adeagbo Isaac, Secretary; Oyekan Adedoyin, Member
Joy Ekut, Member; Fashakin Olawale, Member; Ajibaye Shakiru, Member; Ibrahim Jehu, Member; Bologo Michael, Member
Olawande Braimoh, Member; Charles Musa, Member; Gloria Nwachukwu, Member; and Akpan Ima-Ima Okon, Member.

Credibility and transparency is our DNA at Prime Business Africa’. We strongly believe in the role of media as a watchdog of the society that powerfully promotes accountability and transparency in government.

By contributing to Prime Business Africa, you are helping to sustain good journalism and making sure that it remains free to all.

READ ALSO  Out-of-school Children Breeding Ground For Insurgency, Other Evils - University Don 
PBA Reporter
+ posts