Oshoala, Ordega, Oparanozie, 29 Others Invited For AWCON Preparations In Morocco

2 years ago
1 min read


The trio of Asisat Oshoala, Francesca Ordega and Desire Oparanozie headline a list of 32 players invited by Super Falcons head coach Randy Waldrum for camping ahead of the 2022 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations in Morocco this July reports Prime Business Africa.

The tournament serves as qualifiers for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand and the Falcons will hold a close camp in Morocco where the AWCON will hold between July 2 and July 23, 2022.

The list also includes other notable players like Rasheedat Ajibade, Rita Chikwelu, Onome Ebi, Ashleigh Plumptre and Osinachi Ohale.

The Nigeria Football Federation official website informs that the training camp will start on 18th June in the North African kingdom, with all players already advised to arrive in Rabat on 17th June.

Nine –time champions Nigeria will play in Group C of the 12-team tournament alongside South Africa’s Banyana Banyana, Botswana and Burundi.

Nigeria’s first match of the competition, at which Africa’s four flagbearers to next year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand will emerge, is against the Banyana at the Complexe Sportif Prince Abdellah in Rabat on 4th July.


Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC, France); Tochukwu Oluehi (Maccabi Kishronot Hadera, Israel); Rita Akarekor (Nasarawa Amazons); Yewande Balogun (Coppermine United, USA)

Defenders: Opeyemi Sunday (Edo Queens); Glory Ogbonna (Santa Teresa FC, Spain); Onome Ebi (En Avant Guingamp, France); Osinachi Ohale (Deportivo Alaves, Spain); Ugochi Emenayo (Konak Belediyespor Izmir, Turkey); Ashleigh Plumptre (Leicester City, England); Nicole Payne (West Virginia University, USA); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Akudo Ogbonna (Edo Queens)

Midfielders: Peace Efih (Kiryat Gat, Israel); Amanda Uju Mbadi (Atasehir Belediyespor, Turkey); Halimatu Ayinde (Eskilstuna FC, Sweden); Charity Adule (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain); Toni Oyedupe Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Regina Otu (Minsk FC, Belarus); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid, Spain); Rita Chikwelu (Madrid CFF, Spain); Suliat Abideen (Edo Queens)

Forwards: Anam Imo (Pitea IF, Sweden); Francisca Ordega (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Desire Oparanozie (Wuhan Chegu Jianghan, China); Vivian Ikechukwu (WFC Gintra, Lithuania); Chinonyerem Macleans (GSK Gornik Leczna, Poland); Chinwendu Ihezuo (Meizhou Hakka Club, China); Ifeoma Onumonu (NY/NJ Gotham FC, USA); Uchenna Kanu (Tigres Femenil, Mexico); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain)


Follow Us

Latest from Latest News

Don't Miss

Rashidat Ajibade celebrates her feat

Rasheedat Ajibade Is Athletico Madrid Player Of The Season

Super Falcons winger, Rasheedat Ajibade, has been named