Nigeria's Senate Presidents, Speakers From The Beginning

Nigeria’s Senate Presidents, Speakers From The Beginning

1 min read

On Tuesday, the election and inauguration of Senator Godswill Akpabio as President of the Senate and Tajudeen Abbass as the Speaker of the House of Representatives brought to an end the schemings and backstabbings that had characterised the race for who would grab either of the exalted offices of the National Assembly among members-elect.

The race had actually started immediately after the national election of February 25 which was for the offices of the President and Members-of-Parliament.

READ ALSO: Akpabio Sworn In As Senate President

Prime Business Africa, your favourite stable, presents to you a special ‘dish’ of the names of various politicians who occupied the offices from the very beginning and those that have stepped in during the just-concluded exercise. From the very beginning till date, there have been an equal number of Senate Presidents and Speakers, shared 30 apiece and totalling 60.


  1. Nnamdi Azikiwe (known as the inaugural Senate President)————-January 1960-October 1960.
  2. Dennis Osadebay————————————————————–1960-1963.
  3. Nwafor Orizu——————————————————————-1963-1966.
  4. Joseph Wayas——————————————————————1979-1983.
  5. Iyorchia Ayu——————————————————————–1992-1993.
  6. Ameh Ebute——————————————————————–1993-1993.
  7. Evan Enwerem—————————————————————-1999-1999.
  8. Chuba Okadigbo————————————————————–1999-2000
  9. Anyim Pius Anyim————————————————————2000-2003.
  10. Adolphus Wabara————————————————————2003-2005.
  11. Ken Nnamani—————————————————————–2005-2007.
  12. David Mark——————————————————————-2007-2015.
  13. Bukola Saraki—————————————————————-2015-2019.
  14. Ahmad Lawan—————————————————————2019-2023.
  15. Godswill Akpabio———————————————————–June 13, 2023.


  1. Frederic Mecalfe (the inaugural Speaker; British)———————1955-1959.
  2. Jaja Nwachukwu (the first indigenous Speaker)———————–1959-1960.
  3. Ibrahim Jalo Waziri——————————————————1960-1966.
  4. Edwin Ume-Ezeoke——————————————————1979-1983.
  5. Benjamin Chaha———————————————————1983-1983.
  6. Agunwa Anaekwe——————————————————–1992-1993.
  7. Salihu Ibrahim———————————————————-1999-1999.
  8. Ghali Umar Na’Abba—————————————————-1999-2003.
  9. Aminu Bello Masari—————————————————–2003-2007.
  10. Patricia Etteh————————————————————2007-2007.
  11. Dimeji Bankole———————————————————-2007-2011.
  12. Aminu Tambuwal——————————————————-2011-2015.
  13. Yakubu Dogara———————————————————-2015-2019.
  14. Femi Gbajabiamila——————————————————2019-2023.
  15. Tajudeen Abbas———————————————————-June 13, 2023.

Support Investigative Journalism and Mentorship

Courageous Journalism of Truth,Transparency and Development is in the DNA of Prime Business Africa; By donating as little as N1000 or $1 today, you are helping to keep credible journalism and life-changing information free for all.

+ posts