bbcefadbfadb,dfa ()

Messi, Djokovic, Verstappen, Red Bull Nominated For 2024 Lareaus Awards

The Laureus Awards will hold April 22 in Madrid, Spain
5 months ago
1 min read

Several top athletes, teams and organizations will be rewarded on April 22 for their immense achievements and contributions to sports when the 2024 Lareaus World Sports awards will be held.

The awards is set aside for the distinguished stars and teams in different sporting disciplines for their feats between 2023 and early 2024.

The roll call of nominees for the award was released on Monday with such names such as Lionel Messi, Erling Haaland, Jude Bellingham (football), Novak Djokovic, Rafa Nadal (tennis), Siya Kolisi (Rugby), Simone Biles (Gymnastics).

Nigeria’s nemesis at the flnal of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations, hosts Cote d’Ivoire may not have won the title but for the towering presence of striker Sébastien Haller who battled testicular cancer to come back to the game.

The Borrusia Dortmund star is on the list.

Below is a full list of nominees for the Lareaus World Sports awards and their categories:

Sportsman of the Year
Novak Djokovic (Serbia) – tennis

Mondo Duplantis (Sweden) – athletics

Erling Haaland (Norway) – football

Noah Lyles (USA) – athletics

Lionel Messi (Argentina) – football

Max Verstappen (Netherlands) – motor racing

Sportswoman of the year
Aitana Bonmati (Spain) – football

Shericka Jackson (Jamaica) – athletics

Faith Kipyegon (Kenya) – athletics

Sha’Carri Richardson (USA) – athletics

Mikaela Shiffrin (USA) – skiing

Iga Swiatek (Poland) – tennis

Team of the year
European Ryder Cup Team – golf

Germany men – basketball

Manchester City – football

Red Bull – Formula 1

South Africa – rugby

Spain women – football

Breakthrough of the year
Jude Bellingham (GB) – football

Linda Caicedo (Colombia) – football

Coco Gauff (USA) – tennis

Qin Haiyang (China) – swimming

Josh Kerr (UK) – athletics

Salma Paralluelo (Spain) – football

Comeback of the year
Simone Biles (USA) – gymnastics

Sébastien Haller (Ivory Coast) – football

Katarina Johnson-Thompson (UK) – athletics

Siya Kolisi (South Africa) – rugby

Jamal Murray (Canada) – basketball

Marketa Vondrousova (Czech Republic) – tennis

Sportsperson of the year with a disability
Simone Barlaam (Italy) – swimming

Danylo Chufarov (Ukraine) – swimming

Diede de Groot (Netherlands) – tennis

Luca Ekler (Hungary) – athletics

Nicole Murray (New Zealand) – cycling

Markus Rehm (Germany) – athletics

Action sportsperson of the year
Rayssa Leal (Brazil) – skateboarding

Caroline Marks (USA) – surfing

Kirsten Neuschafer (South Africa) – sailing

Bethany Shriever (GB) – BMX

Filipe Toledo (Brazil) – surfing

Arisa Trew (Australia) – skateboarding

Sport for good
Bola Pra Frente (Brazil) multi-sport & employability

Dancing Grounds (USA) – dancing & social integration

Fundacion Rafa Nadal (Spain) – tennis & education

ISF Cambodia – football & education

Justice Desk Africa (South Africa) – multi-sport & human rights

Obiettivo Napoli (Italy) – multi-sport & inclusion


Izuchukwu Okosi is a Nigerian sports and entertainment journalist with two decades of experience in the media industry having begun his media journey in 2002 as an intern at Mundial Sports International (MSI) and Africa Independent Television (AIT), owners of Daar Communications Plc.


Follow Us

Latest from Latest News