csm brehme eebaefb

Legendary Germany Defender Brehme Dies At 63

4 months ago
1 min read

Former Germany defender Andreas Brehme, scorer of the winning goal in the 1990 World Cup final against Argentina in Rome via penalty, has died aged 63.

Brehme earned 86 caps for Germany, and scored eight goals, for the Mannshaft. He also won league titles while at Kaiserslautern, Bayern Munich and Inter Milan.

Brehme’s partner Susanne Schaefer told German news agency DPA on Tuesday that he “died suddenly” from cardiac arrest.

A versatile left-back, Brehme was at Bayern from 1986-88 and won the Bundesliga title with them in 1987.

“FC Bayern is deeply shocked by the sudden death of Andreas Brehme,” said the German club as they paid condolence to his family.

“We will always keep Andreas Brehme in our hearts – as a world champion and even more so as a very special person.

“He will always be part of the FC Bayern family. Rest in peace, dear Andi.”

Brehme played for Kaiserslautern from 1981-86 and 1993-98.

He won the Bundesliga title in 1998 and German Cup in 1996 during his time at the club, with whom he also had a spell as manager from 2000-02.

“The FCK mourns the loss of Andreas Brehme,” said a Kaiserslautern statement.

“He wore the Red Devils jersey for a total of 10 years and became German champion and cup winner with FCK.

“In 1990, he shot the German national team to the World Cup title with his penalty and finally became a football legend.”

Brehme helped Inter Milan win the Serie A title in 1989 and the Italian club said their players would wear black armbands players when they host Atletico Madrid on Tuesday in the first leg of a last-16 Champions League tie.

“A magnificent player, a true Interista,” said Inter. “C iao Andi, forever a legend.”

The 1990 Germany. World Cup squad were managed by Franz Beckenbauer, who died aged 78 in January, at the 1990 World Cup.


Follow Us

Latest from Latest News

Don't Miss

Germany demolish Scotland in Euro opener

No Mercy As Germany Thrashes Scotland in Euro Opener

Host Germany were ruthless in the Euro 2024