Lagos House of Assembly

Lagos State Assembly Approves 22, Rejects 17 Commissioners-Nominees

4 mins read

The Lagos State House of Assembly took a bold stance on Wednesday by confirming 22 out of the 39 commissioner-nominees put forward by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for screening.

In an unprecedented move that has sent shockwaves through Lagos State’s political landscape, what was anticipated to be a routine process turned into a rigorous evaluation that saw almost half of the nominees facing rejection.

Presided over by Speaker Mudashiru Obasa, the assembly’s confirmation process was conducted with unprecedented meticulousness, led by an ad-hoc committee headed by Chief Whip Fatai Mojeed.

READ ALSO: Marginalization Of Lagos Muslims: 21 Groups Defend Governor Sanwo-Olu’s Cabinet List

This departure from the norm reflects the assembly’s dedication to ensuring that only the most qualified and committed individuals occupy positions of power.

Speaker Obasa’s call for the confirmed nominees to remember their duty to the people rather than any particular individual underscores the assembly’s commitment to a government for and by the people.
This directive sets a strong tone for the incoming commissioners to prioritize the needs of the state’s citizens over political alliances.

READ ALSO  Ecobank Warns Customers About SIM Swap Fraud Threat

Last week’s protests by Islamic clerics shed light on a perceived imbalance in the nominee list, with concerns over religious representation. This public outcry showcases the growing importance of diversity and inclusivity in political appointments, forcing the government to take a closer look at the composition of its nominees.

The 22 individuals who managed to secure their positions are now faced with the task of proving their worth to the assembly and the people they serve. Their names read like a roll call of responsibility, highlighting the wide spectrum of expertise required to govern a state as complex as Lagos.

The 22 commissioners confirmed are Hon. Layode Ibrahim, Mr. Mobolaji Ogunlende, Dr. Dolapo Fasawe, Hon. Bola Olumegbon, Mr. Idris Aregbe, Ms. Abisola Ruth Olusanya, Mr. Moruf Akinderu Fatai, Mr. Kayode Bolaji-Roberts, Engr. Abiola Olowu, Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka, Dr. Oreoluwa Finnih- Awokoya, Mr. Yakub Adedayo Alebiosu, and Mr. Lawal Pedro SAN. Others are Mr. Tunbosun Alake, Mr. Gbenga Oyerinde, Dr. Adekunle Olayinka, Dr. Jide Babatunde, Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo, Mr. Tokunbo Wahab, Mr. Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu, Mr. Jamiu Alli-Balogun and Mr. Abdulkabir Ogungbo.

READ ALSO  Omeruo, Iwobi, Osayi-Samuel, Moffi Return To Super Eagles For Saudi Arabia, Mozambique Friendlies 

However, the 17 nominees who were turned away are left to contemplate their future paths. This significant number underscores the assembly’s commitment to maintaining a high standard of governance, even if it means disappointing those who had high hopes for serving their state.

The 17 not confirmed include Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo, Prof. Akin Abayomi, Mr. Yomi Oluyomi, Mrs. Folashade Ambrose, Ms. Barakat Bakare, Mr. Gbenga Omotosho, Engr. Olalere Odusote, Dr. Rotimi Fashola, Mrs. Bolaji Cecilia Dada and Mr. Sam Egube. Others include Mr. Olalekan Fatodu, Mrs. Solape Hammond, Mr. Mosopefolu George, Engr. Aramide Adeyoye, Mr. Seun Osiyemi, Mr Rotimi Ogunwuyi and Dr. Olumide Oluyinka.

In the wake of this announcement, Lagos State’s political landscape is sure to see shifts and changes. The rejected nominees might not disappear from the scene entirely, as the assembly’s decision could trigger debates about the governor’s selection process and the criteria used for evaluation.

+ posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.