Kwara Gov Submits Commissioner-nominee List To State Assembly

Emphasizes appointment of experienced persons for effective Governance.

3 mins read

Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq of Kwara State has submitted a list of commissioner-nominees to the State House of Assembly.

The list contains four former commissioners and 14 additional candidates. This was contained in a letter addressed to Speaker  for the Assembly, Mr. Yakubu Danladi-Salihu, which was presented during a special plenary session held on Monday.

Speaker Danladi-Salihu apprised his colleagues of the contents of the letter, highlighting that Governor AbdulRazaq adhered to the relevant constitutional provisions, specifically Section 14, Sub-section 4 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, and Section 192, Sub-section 125 of the constitution.

The ex-commissioners that made list are Saadat Modibbo-Kawu (Ilorin South), Senior Suleiman (Ilorin West), Olaitan Buraimo (Oyun), and Aliyu Sabi (Baruten).

The remaining commissioner-nominees include Abdulganiyu Abdulazeez (Asa), Sheu Ndanusa (Edu), Afolasade Kemi (Ekiti), and Dr. Segun Ogunsola (Ifelodun). The list further encompasses Abdulqowiy Olododo (Ilorin East), Hauwa Nuru (Ilorin West), Damilola Yusuf (Isin), Oloruntosin Thomas (Isin), and Bola Olukoju (Irepodun).

Also in the list are Abubakar Abdullahi (Kaiama), John Bello (Moro), Dr. Amina Al-Imam (Offa), Dr. Mary Ayinde (Oke-Ero), and Usman Yinusa (Patigi).

The speaker instructed all nominees to submit 35 copies of their curriculum vitae to the Office of the Clerk by the close of business on Tuesday, August 15, in preparation for the screening exercise, which is set to commence on August 16.

Furthermore, the assembly granted approval for the appointment of 10 Special Advisers at the request of Governor AbdulRazaq. This decision aligns with Section 196, Sub-section 1 of the Constitution and is intended to facilitate effective governance by selecting dedicated individuals with relevant experience.

Governor AbdulRazaq stressed that this approach would ensure equitable distribution of democratic dividends throughout the state.

The assembly also made a plea for the state government to collaborate with the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) through the State Ministry of Health and Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development to urgently initiate a state-wide vaccination campaign for livestock using Anthrax Spore Vaccines. This recommendation stemmed from a motion on controlling the community spread of the Anthrax pandemic in Kwara State, sponsored by Razaq Owolabi (APC/ Share/Oke-Ode).

In addition, the assembly urged the Ministry of Communication to conduct extensive public awareness and sensitization efforts on the subject of Anthrax epidemic. These initiatives are aimed at educating citizens on maintaining personal and environmental hygiene, along with proper disposal methods for deceased animals to prevent Anthrax disease outbreaks in the state.

Lawmakers emphasized the importance of heightened surveillance over the activities of cattle rearers and butchers, tasking quarantine officers at the federal, state, and local levels to remain vigilant in their duties.

+ posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.