Election Tribunal: Meet the five judges deciding Tinubu, Obi, Atiku’s fate today

3 mins read

In a historic turn of events, a diverse panel of judges has assumed the responsibility of deciding the outcome of the contentious presidential election petitions, offering a fresh perspective on Nigeria’s political landscape.

In a judicial spectacle that has captured the nation’s attention, the Presidential Election Petition Tribunal is poised to determine the fate of Nigeria’s political future.

This high-stakes legal battle, which involves five political parties contesting Bola Tinubu’s election as president, is being closely monitored by citizens, politicians, and legal experts alike.

However, what makes this tribunal particularly noteworthy is the diverse background of the five-member panel of justices presiding over the case.

READ ALSO: Tinubu, Obi, Atiku, Nigerians Stand Still For Presidential Election Tribunal Verdict Today

Here are the five judges making the panel:

Justice Haruna Tsammani

The Chief Registrar of the Court of Appeal heads the panel and brings his extensive experience as a jurist. Born in Tafawa Balewa LGA of Bauchi State, Justice Tsammani has spent half of his 24-year career as a judge on the Court of Appeal bench.

READ ALSO  NUPENG Mobilises Tanker Drivers, Petrol Station Workers For Nationwide Strike

His previous decisions include affirming the second-term election of Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State and issuing an order restraining Rivers and Lagos state governments from collecting Value Added Tax (VAT).

Justice Stephen Adah

Justice Adah is from Dekina Local Government Area of Kogi State and presides over the Asaba Division of the Court of Appeal.

He has a track record of delivering impactful judgments, including affirming the conviction of a former Plateau State governor, Joshua Dariye, and former governor of Taraba, Jolly Nyame. Despite their convictions, both Dariye and Nyame received pardons from President Muhammadu Buhari after their cases reached the Supreme Court.

Justice Mistura Bolaji-Yusuf

Justice Misturah Bolaji-Yusuf is the only female member of the panel, who hails from Oyo West LGA of Oyo State. Her elevation from a Judge of the High Court of Oyo State to the Court of Appeal in 2014 attests to her legal acumen.

Justice Boloukuoromo Ugo

The youngest among the judges on the panel represents Kolokuma/Opokuma Local Government Area of Bayelsa State. His relatively youthful perspective and background could provide a unique viewpoint in this significant case.

READ ALSO  Cargo Rail Cheaper, More Convenient, NRC MD Tells Importers

Justice Abba Mohammed

Justice Mohammed was born in Kano State, and has a history of service in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) High Court. His role as the Chairman of the Nasarawa State Governorship Election Tribunal in 2019 demonstrates his experience in handling politically sensitive cases.

The diverse composition of the panel reflects Nigeria’s commitment to ensuring a fair and impartial justice system. With the fate of the nation’s leadership in their hands, these judges will engage in rigorous debate and deliberation before rendering their final decision.

It’s important to note that, regardless of the tribunal’s verdict, dissatisfied parties still have the option to appeal to the Supreme Court.


+ posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.