Margaret Okadigbo, Muhammadu Buhari
Margaret Okadigbo, President Muhammadu Buhari

Buhari Appoints Okadigbo’s Widow As NNPC Board Chairman

1 min read

By Ugonna Opara

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Margery Okadigbo as Chairman of the Board and Management of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPC).

This is in accordance with the power vested in him under Section 59(2) of the Petroleum Industry Act he signed on August 16, 2021.

He also appointed Mele Kyari as Chief Executive Officer, and Umar Ajiya as Chief Financial Officer.

Other Board Members include Dr Tajudeen Umar (North East), Lami Ahmed (North Central), Mohammed Lawal (North West), Henry Obih (South East), Constance Marshal (South-South), and Chief Pius Akinyelure (South West).

Also appointed were Executive Commissioners of the Nigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission.

READ ALSO  UK Extends Work Visa Sponsor License Renewal To 10 Years

They include Executive Commissioner, Development and Production, Dr Nuhu Habib (Kano); Executive Commissioner, Economic Regulations and Strategic Planning, Dr Kelechi Ofoegbu (Imo); Executive Commissioner, Health, Safety, Environment and Community, Captain Tonlagha John (Delta); and Executive Commissioner, Corporate Services and Administration, Jide Adeola (Kogi).

Earlier appointed are the Board Chairman, CEO, Executive Commissioner, Exploration and Acreage Management, and Executive Commissioner, Finance and Accounts.

New appointees at the Nigerian Midstream and Downstream Petroleum Regulatory Authority are Executive Director, Hydrocarbon Processing, Francis Ogaree (Rivers); Executive Director, Health, Safety, Environment and Community, Mustapha Lamorde (Adamawa); Executive Director, Midstream and Downstream Gas Infrastructure Fund; Mansur Kuliya (Kano); Executive Director, Corporate Services and Administration, Bashir Sadiq (Sokoto); and Executive Director, Economic Regulations and Strategic Planning, Dr Zainab Gobir (Kwara).

READ ALSO  CBN's MPR Hike Will Worsen Economic Challenges, Lead To Jobs Losses - Peter Obi

They join the Board Chairman, Executive Director, Downstream Systems, Storage and Retailing Infrastructure, the CEO, and Executive Director, Finance and Accounts, who had earlier been appointed.

For Midstream and Downstream Infrastructure Fund, new Council Members are; Effiong Abia (Akwa Ibom), Bobboi Ahmed (Adamawa), and Abdullahi Bukar (Katsina).

+ posts
READ ALSO  Nigerian Air Travellers Can Now Enjoy Lower Ticket Prices For International Flights - NCAA