Prof. Alphonsus Isara

APHPN Elects New Leadership

1 min read

The Association of Public Health Physicians of Nigeria (APHPN), has elected Prof. Alphonsus Rukevwe Isara, of University of Benin Teaching Hospital (UBTH), Benin City as its new President.

Prof. Isara took over from Prof. B. S. C. Uzochukwu after being chosen in an election that held during the 37th Annual General Meeting of the Association on the 17th June, 2021 in Abuja.

He will serve as President for a period of two years in the first instance, having served as the Secretary General of APHPN from 2009 to 2013.

Prof. Alphonsus R. Isara, is a Professor of Public Health and Community Medicine, University of Benin, and a Consultant Public Health Physician at University of Benin Teaching Hospital (UBTH). He has been promoting Public Health in Nigeria for over two decades; and at present, he is a member of the Board of the Faculty of Public Health and Community Medicine, National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria; the Monitoring and Evaluation Officer of the Centre of Excellence in Reproductive Health Innovation (CERHI), University of Benin; and currently, the Secretary of Network on Behavioural Research for Child Survival in Nigeria (NETBRECSIN).

READ ALSO  NLC To Tinubu: You're Insensitive To Sufferings Of Nigerians, Fails To Fulfil Promises  

The election also produced Prof. Mustapha Jamda, of the Department of Community Medicine, University of Abuja, FCT, as Vice President I; Dr. Sunday Aderibigbe, of Department of Epidemiology & Community Health, University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital, Ilorin, as Vice President II; Dr. Alphonsus Aigbiremolen, of Cedar Centre for Health and Development, Ekpoma, Edo State, as Secretary General; Dr. Ulunma Mariere, of Department of Community Medicine & Public Health, Federal Medical Center, Yenagoa, as Assistant Secretary.

Others are Dr. Omosivie Maduka, of Department of Community Medicine, University of Port Harcourt Teaching Hospital, Port Harcourt, Publicity Secretary; Dr. Achunam Nwabueze, of Department of Community Medicine & Primary Health Care, Nnamdi Azikiwe Teaching Hospital, Nnewi, Internal Auditor; Dr. Adesuwa Aigbokahode, of Department of Public Health, Federal Medical Center, Asaba, Treasurer; and Prof. Vivian Omuemu, of Department of Public Health & Community Medicine, University of Benin Teaching Hospital, Benin City, Editor-in-Chief.

READ ALSO  Geometric Power, National Control Centre Design Programme For Electricity Supply To Aba

According to the Association, the mandate of the newly elected EXCO of APHPN under the leadership of Prof. Isara is to uphold the tenets of the Association as enshrined in its vision: “Excellence in Public Health Practice by Public Health Physicians at all levels contributing the attainment of better health, equity and well-being”.

The current and immediate past President of APHPN are top notch Nigeria medical scholars with decades of teaching and research experiences in medicine and are game changers. They have produced medical experts, who are doing groundbreaking researches and written their names in gold as solution providers to health issues globally. They are said to have managed different programmes and innovations for better health care at the national and sub-regional levels; and the findings of their researches over the years find expression in their community service activities, which focus on repositioning public health.

+ posts