Alvine Dah-Zossu, Ajakaye Top Flamingos Squad For FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup

2 mins read

Nigeria’s 21-woman squad for tFlamingos’-17 Women’s World Cup in India was released on Friday evening with captain Alvine Dah-Zossu and top scorer during the qualifiers Opeyemi Ajakaye topping the list reports Prime Business Africa.

The Flamingos will play in Group B where they will face Germany, Chile and New Zealand.

Matches of this year’s tournament will hold at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, Pandit Jawarharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa and the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.

The Flamingos’ first game is against Germany on October 11 in Goa at 4pm Nigeria time. The team will then play New Zealand and Chile on October 14 and 17.

READ ALSO  Joke Silva Warns Against False Alarm Over Olu Jacobs' Life

The team were hosted to a dinner Thursday night by the High Commissioner to Nigeria His Excellency Gangaharan Balasubramanian and are expected to depart for Turkey next week for a 10-day training camp before making the trip to India.

The India High Commissioner tasked the team to ensure that they perform excellently and produce the next Asisat Oshoala and Francisca Ordega, two of the Super Falcons powerhouses who were once youth internationals for the Nigerian national team.

The Flamingos are coached by Bankole Olowookere who steered the team to the tournament after a 5-0 aggregate win over Ethiopia in the last rounds of qualifiers.

READ ALSO  AFCON: Egypt Edges Past Cote d’Ivoire On Penalties To Set Up Morocco Derby 

Since the competition was launched in New Zealand 14 years ago, Nigeria has only been absent at the tournament in 2019 staged in Uruguay.

21 Flamingos for FIFA World Cup:

Goalkeepers: Faith Omilana; Linda Jiwuaku; Jessica Inyiama

Defenders: Olamide Oyinlola; Josephine Edafe; Comfort Folorunsho; Miracle Usani; Tumininu Adeshina; Blessing Sunday; Alase Attervall; Immaculata Offiong

Midfield: Chidera Okenwa; Blessing Emmanuel; Mary Aderemi; Bisola Mosaku; Taiwo Afolabi

Forward: Omowunmi Bello; Opeyemi Ajakaye; Edidiong Etim; Alvine Dah-Zossu; Yetunde Ayantosho.

The FIFA U-17 Women’s World Groups

GROUP A: India, USA, Morocco, Brazil

GROUP B: Germany, Nigeria, Chile, New Zealand

GROUP C: Spain, Colombia, Mexico, China

READ ALSO  Economy: CSO Begs Buhari To Replace Non-performing Officials

GROUP D: Japan, Tanzania, Canada, France

+ posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.