Adeleke Dethrones 3 Monarchs, OSIEC Chairman Over Alleged Corruption
Osun Governor, Ademola Adeleke

Adeleke Dethrones 3 Monarchs, OSIEC Chairman Over Alleged Corruption

5 mins read

Osun State Governor, Ademola Adeleke has dethroned three monarchs appointed by his predecessor, Adegboyega Oyetola.

The state government also ordered the immediate suspension of the chairman of the Osun State Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC), Mr. Segun Oladitan, and six members of the Commission.

The traditional stools affected in the dethronement include Akirun of Ikirun, Oba Yinusa Akadiri, Aree of Iree, Oba Ademola Oluponle and Oba Adegboyega Famodun.

The former governor also approved the appointment of 30 permanent secretaries into the various ministries.

However, the new governor in a statement signed by his spokesperson, Olawale Rasheed barely 24 hours after inauguration announced that the thrones of Akirun of Akirun, Aree of Iree and Owa of Igbajo remain vacant pending the outcome of a Committee of Inquiry to review their appointments and subsequent installations.

Adeleke had while speaking during his inauguration on Sunday, disclosed that his predecessor, Oyetola, had hurriedly appointed traditional rulers known as oba, without following due process, and also carried out mass employment without budgetary provisions for salary payments for the new employees. He stated that he would issue executive orders to order immediate freezing of all banks accounts owned by the state, and also establish a panel of inquiry to review all appointments and major decisions of Oyetola’s administration.

READ ALSO  I Will Crush Terrorism Before Leaving Office – Buhari Vows

According to the statement by Rasheed, the six Executive Orders issued by the governor which borders on reversal of monarchs appointments, appointment and placement of civil servants, employment and freezing of government accounts have been signed on Monday morning and take immediate effect.

“All appointments of traditional rulers made by Osun State Government after 17th July, 2022, are hereby ordered to be reviewed to ensure there was strict compliance with due process of chieftaincy declarations and native law, custom and tradition relating to such chieftaincies.

“In the case of Ikirun, Iree and Igbajo, to avoid further breakdown of law and order, the appointments of Akinrun of Ikinrun, Aree of Ire and Owa of Igbajo are hereby put on hold pending review. Subsequently, the palaces of Akinrun of Ikirun, Aree of Iree and Owa of Igbajo should remain unoccupied, while security agencies are hereby ordered to take charge.

“All employments in the service of Osun State Government made in any capacity into any capacity in all the Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions, Boards and Parastatals after July 17th, 2022 are hereby nullified”, he said.

The Governor also ordered the reversal of appointments into civil service and directed head of government agencies to embark on staff audit immediately.

READ ALSO  Osun Tribunal Verdict: Tinubu, Akeredolu Felicitate Oyetola For Victory, As PDP Kicks

“All Heads of Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions, Boards and Parastatals of Osun State Government are hereby directed to carry out an immediate staff audit of the actual number of government workers in their various Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions, Boards and Parastatals, as at 17th July, 2022, and should file a report to the Office of the Chief of Staff to the Governor stating the full details and position/designation of each of the staff on the forwarded list, within 7 working days from the date of this Executive order using the attached Oath of Fidelity Template.

“All appointments in the service of Osun State Government made in any capacity into any capacity in all the Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions, Boards and Parastatals after 17th July, 2022 be and are hereby reversed”, the statement reads.

Similarly, a statement issued by the Secretary to the State Government, Teslim Igbalaye ordered the immediate suspension of Osun State Independent Electoral Commission, OSIEC.

The statement further read in part, “The Executive Governor of Osun State, Senator Adeleke, has directed the immediate suspension of the Chairman of OSIEC, Segun Oladitan, and the following members of the Commission:

  1. Mr. Yusuf Oyeniran
    II. Alhaja Suibat Adubi
    III. Prince Yinka Ajiboye
    IV. Mrs. Abosede Omibeku
    V. Mr. Dosu Gidigbi
    VI. Mr. Wahab Adewoyin
READ ALSO  260 Enugu Young Farmers Undergo Training In Modern Agriculture 

“This suspension is sequel to several petitions bothering on financial impropriety, dereliction of duty, absenteeism and abuse of office against the said Chairman and members of the Commission.

“Pending the outcome of investigation into the allegations against the suspended chairman and members of the Commission, the Secretary to the Commission shall hold forth in running the affairs of the Commission.”



Support Investigative Journalism and Mentorship

Courageous Journalism of Truth,Transparency and Development is in the DNA of Prime Business Africa; By donating as little as N1000 or $1 today, you are helping to keep credible journalism and life-changing information free for all.

PBA Reporter
+ posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.