INEC Distributes Materials In Osun For Saturday Polls

2024 Bye-election: INEC Releases Final List Of Candidates’ Particulars

4 months ago
1 min read

As the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), prepares for the 2024 bye-elections to fill vacant seats in both state and national assemblies, the Commission has published final list and personal particulars of candidates who will participate in the election.

According to a statement released on Wednesday, 17 January, signed by Sam Olumekun National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, the election will be held on Saturday, 3rd February 2024 across nine States of the Federation.

According to the INEC spokesperson, the polls will be held in two Senatorial Districts (Ebonyi South and Yobe East); four Federal Constituencies (Shanga/Ngaski/Yauri Federal Constituency of Kebbi State, Surulere I Federal Constituency of Lagos State, Akoko North East/Akoko North West Federal Constituency of Ondo State and Jalingo/Yorro/Zing Federal Constituency of Taraba State); and three State Constituencies (Guma I State Constituency of Benue State, Chibok State Constituency of Borno State and Chikun State Constituency of Kaduna State).

READ ALSO: INEC Denies Allegations Of Tampering With Kogi Election Results

“As provided in the Timetable and Schedule of Activities, the personal particulars and final list of candidates have been published today in our State offices and the affected constituencies pursuant to the provision of Section 29(3) of the Electoral Act, 2022. The list of candidates is also published on our website and social media platforms,” he stated.

The electoral body appealed to Nigerians to scrutinize the personal particulars (Form EC9 and academic credentials) of the candidates, adding that “Any aspirant who participated in his/her party primaries with reasonable grounds to believe that the information provided by the candidate is false can challenge the nomination in a Federal high Court as provided in Section 29(5) of the Electoral Act 2022.”

It further clarified that the lists of particulars of candidates are only for those participating in bye-elections as they are fresh elections for which political parties conducted primaries and nominated their candidates.

It however, said for that those going for rerun which will also be conducted on the same day with bye-election the list and personal particulars of candidates had been published before the 2023 General Election and so, will not be published again.

“The re-run elections are conducted pursuant to the orders of the Election Petition Appeal Tribunals. They are not fresh elections open to new/disqualified candidates which obviates the need to publish their personal particulars again,” Commission explained.

See the list below:

2023 Bye-election: INEC Releases Final List Of Candidates’ Particulars IMG WA IMG WA 2023 Bye-election: INEC Releases Final List Of Candidates’ Particulars IMG WA IMG WA IMG WA 2023 Bye-election: INEC Releases Final List Of Candidates’ Particulars


Follow Us

Latest from Latest News

Don't Miss

US Judge Delays Release of Tinubu’s CSU Records After Appeal

APC Tackles Atiku Over Comment On Tinubu’s Policies 

APC has berated former Nigeria's Vice President, Atiku