2023: NCFront To Form Mega Party As Third Force

Utomi, Moghalu, Others Play Lead Role In the Transition/Harmonization Committee
2 years ago
2 mins read

Leaders of Conscience, key stakeholders and partners in the emerging Third Force Movement of Nigeria have met under the auspices of the National Consultative Front, (NCFront) and resolved to form a mega political party that will produce a presidential candidate to restle power from the incumbent government in 2023.

The resolution was made during a meeting of stakeholders in the coalition movement which held on Sunday February 6, 2022 at Victoria Island in Lagos.

In the meeting, the stakeholders consumated negotiations among parties and interested partners aimed at forming what they called “a formidable alternative democratic Mega Party to drive the political rescue and salvation of Nigeria through the ballot in 2023.”

According to a communique issued after the meeting, made available to Prime Business Africa, the stakeholders received solidarity and goodwill messages from other key partners in the fusion process, namely: Rescue Nigeria Project (RNP) Nigeria Intervention Movement (NIM) Strategic Elements of the Civil Society Movement and Youths’ EndSars Movement, signifying their acceptance of the agenda to merge launch a mega party.

They also received presentations from the National Chairmen of National Rescue Movement (NRM) and the African Democratic Congress (ADC) respectively on their resolve to accommodate all partners and stakeholders in the fusion arrangement.

The coalition having gotten acceptance of the stakeholders and partners from different political groups in line with the Memorandum Of Understanding for merger, formed a transition/ harmonization council.
“Consequent upon the two presentations and the separate pledges of the two political parties to fully honour the terms, conditions and modalities contained in the Memorandum Of Understanding (MOU) drafted to guide the adoption of the Coalition Party to serve as the vehicle and platform upon which the fusion shall be consummated, the meeting set up an all inclusive Transition/ Harmonisation Council to practically consummate the political fusion of all stakeholders on the platform of one of the registered allied political parties as well as launch the alternative mega party, without further delay, at least within the next three weeks,” reads part of the communique signed by Ms Bilikis Bello on behalf of the National Secretariat of NCFront.

Members of the transition/ harmonization council include founder of Centre for Values in Leadership (CVL), Prof Pat Utomi, former deputy governor, CBN, and ADC presidential aspirants, Prof Kingsley Moghalu, ADC Chairman, Barr Dan Nwayanwu, Dr Usman Bugaje, Engr Buba Galadima, Senator Saidu Dansadau, Chairman, NRM. Chief Raph Okey Nwosu.

Others are Hadjia Najatu Mohammed, Prof Mrs Remi Sonaiya, Pastor Ituah Ighodalo, former Economic Adviser to the President of Nigeria, Prof Osita Ogbu, Hon Mrs Janet Adeyemi, Dr Chris Ekiyor, Dr Sadiq Gombe, Comrade Promise Adewusi, mni, former Deputy President of the Nigeri Labour Congress (NLC), Dr Tanko Yunusa, Barr Monday Ubani, Esq, Chief Akin Braithwaite, Arc Ezekiel Nya Etok, Lady Khadija Okunnu-Lamidi, Hon Dr Olubunmi Usim Wilson, Ogbeni Lanre Banjo, Mr Segun Oshinowo, former DG of NECA and Sir Olawale Okunniyi, who is to coordinate the Council Secretariat.

The group concluded that more members would be co-opted when it becomes necessary as the secretariat of the council is expected to commence works immediately.

A coalition of civil society groups under the aegis of NCFront have been on a nationwide consultation and has engaged with various political movements, to form a third force which they intend to use to seize power front the incumbent.

Victor Ezeja is a passionate journalist with six years of experience writing on economy, politics and energy. He holds a Masters degree in Mass Communication.


Follow Us

Latest from Featured Posts

Don't Miss


Super Falcons Edges South Africa In Olympics Qualifier

Nigeria's women football national team, Super Falcons on